Table of Contents
   Chronology of the Hemings Familyp. 11
   Prefacep. 15
   Introductionp. 21
      Young Elizabeth's Worldp. 37
      John Wayles: The Immigrantp. 57
      The Children of No Onep. 77
      Thomas Jeffersonp. 91
      The First Monticellop. 111
      In the Home of a Revolutionaryp. 131
   The Vaunted Scene of Europe
      "A Particular Purpose"p. 153
      James Hemings: The Provincial Abroadp. 169
      "Isabel or Sally Will Come"p. 191
      Dr. Suttonp. 209
      The Rhythms of the Cityp. 224
      The Eve of Revolutionp. 249
      "During That Time"p. 264
      Sarah Hemings: The Fatherless Girl in a Patriarchal Societyp. 290
      The Teenagers and the Womanp. 308
      "His Promises, on Which She Implicitly Relied"p. 326
      "The Treaty" and "Did they Love Each Other?"p. 353
      The Returnp. 376
   On the Mountain
      Hello and Goodbyep. 397
      Equilibriump. 414
      The Brothersp. 437
      Philadelphiap. 455
      Exodusp. 480
      The Second Monticellop. 504
      Into the Future, Echoes from the Pastp. 521
      The Ocean of Lifep. 540
      The Public World and the Private Domainp. 562
      "Measurably Happy": The Children of Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemingsp. 586
      Retirement for One, Not for Allp. 606
      Endings and Beginningsp. 629
   Epiloguep. 655
   Acknowledgmentsp. 663
   Notesp. 669
   Selected Bibliographyp. 737
   Indexp. 755