Summary

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, "Golden State" is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.
Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister's side--no easy task since the streets of San Francisco are filled with tension and strife. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff in which she is forced to examine both the promising and the painful parts of her past--her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest heartbreak.
Infused with emotional depth and poignancy, "Golden State" takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day--through an extraordinary landscape of love, loss, and hope.
Advance praise for "Golden State"
" "
"A breathtaking read and one I'll not soon forget."--Melanie Benjamin, author of "The Aviator's Wife"
" "
"I haven't read such a gripping, bittersweet, moving novel in ages. "Golden State" sweeps you up, whisks you away, and doesn't let you go till the very end. Michelle Richmond, author of the unforgettable "The Year of Fog, " does it again."--Tatiana de Rosnay, author of "Sarah's Key"
"This is the kind of book you want to read slowly, but instead you read it in a mad rush to find out where this incredibly talented writer is taking you."--Ann Packer, author of "Swim Back to Me"
"So imaginative, so heartfelt--a masterly braid of memory and urgency. Richmond is in top form, and has made a book of exquisite grace."--Andrew Sean Greer, author of "The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells"
" "
"Dazzlingly smart and moving, "Golden State" doesn't just shine, it "blazes.""--Caroline Leavitt, author of "Pictures of You"
"Mesmerizing and intricate . . . a] riveting read that can be recommended to fans of Jodi Picoult and Jacquelyn Mitchard."--"Booklist" (starred review)
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.