Summary

"In the spring of 2000, Harper's Magazine sent James McManus to Las Vegas to cover the World Series of Poker - in particular, the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outre it took a Manhatten pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether." "But when McManus sets foot in town, the lure of the tables is too strong: he proceeds to risk his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual experience at the table (he tells his skeptical wife) can he capture the hair-raising subtleties of the kind of poker that determines he world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself - the players, the hands, and his own unlikely progress in it."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved


Rough sex, black magic, murder, and the science - and eros - of gambling meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper's to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outre it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself - the players, the hand-to-hand combat, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gamblerand The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Streetis a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America's card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies" - the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.