Reviews

Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

*Starred Review* First-novelist Mason hooks the reader with her first sentence, There is very little peace for a man with a body buried in his backyard. Mild-mannered widower Jason Getty is responsible for burying one body, but he's shocked when two others are discovered in his yard and found to be the work of the home's previous owner, Boyd Montgomery, who came upon his wife, Katielynn, in bed with Reid Reynolds three years earlier, just weeks before Reynolds was to marry his childhood sweetheart, Leah Tamblin. Getty, on tenterhooks, is massively relieved when police wrap up the latter two murders, until persistent detective Tim Bayard finds blood traces in Getty's house that point to a third crime. As Getty prepares a cover-up, Tamblin comes looking for answers and resolution, and what seemed a closed murder case opens up again. Racheting up suspense is one thing, and Mason manages it masterfully, particularly as it concerns Getty's fate. But portraying characters so well and so thoroughly, examining and explaining their motives even for murder, requires a level of skill that is rare, marking this as an astonishingly accomplished debut and Mason as a writer to watch very closely.--Leber, Michele Copyright 2010 Booklist


Library Journal
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

It's been a year since Jason Getty killed a man and buried him in his yard. But when Jason hires a lawn service, two more graves of which he had been unaware are uncovered. This discovery begins the unraveling of Jason's already precarious sanity and will lead a cast of characters, including two detectives and a very special dog, to a unique killer and dual stories of betrayal and murder. Mason's prose is at times as lovely as poetry, and wry humor deftly offsets her grim tale to devastating effect. This tale has more twists than a corkscrew and you'll find yourself surprised at nearly every turn. Each character is brought to life with startling clarity, and if you think you can't sympathize with a murderer, think again. Especially delightful is unofficial police dog Tessa, who will make readers grin and break their hearts in equal measure. VERDICT Mason has written a quirky and downright thrilling treat that is not to be missed. Fans of Tana French and Erin Kelly especially will find themselves entranced by this nearly perfect debut.--Kristin Centorcelli, Denton, TX (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Mason strides confidently into Coen brothers territory with her highly entertaining, solidly plotted debut about loneliness and the need for companionship. Sad sack Jason Getty has lived in fear ever since killing a man in a rage and burying the body in a remote corner of his yard some 17 months earlier. Just as the guilt-stricken Jason decides that he has gotten away with the crime, the landscaping crew he's hired to clean up his neglected property find a body under the mulch bed beneath his bedroom window. Police later unearth a second body nearby. Neither is the man he murdered. While the police investigate and Jason worries about that third body, Leah Tamblin becomes obsessed with discovering if one of the bodies is Reid Reynolds, her often unfaithful fiance who disappeared 13 days before their wedding. With sly wit Mason tweaks genre cliches while respecting crime fiction tenets. Agent: Amy Moore-Benson, AMB Literary Management. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.