Reviews

Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

The first volume of Jemisin's Dreamblood is set in the vaguely Egyptian city of Gujaareh and follows the Gatherer Ehiru, a priest trained to bring the dying or corrupt a peaceful end through powerful, dream-based magic. By refusing to kill a visiting ambassador, Ehiru is drawn into a world of intrigues that involve not only his superiors in the priesthood and Gujaareh's ruler, the Prince of Sunset, but also dark secrets about the origins of dream magic itself. An engaging and well-realized setting and equally strong characters recommend this for sf-fantasy general readers and Jemisin fans alike.--Keep, Alan Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Jemisin's gripping series launch immerses readers in an unfamiliar but enthralling world as well as a rousing political and supernatural adventure. In Gujaareh, a city-state reminiscent of ancient Egypt (though the differences far outnumber the similarities), dreams are the source of magic, and it is Gatherer Ehiru's job to collect the mystical life-giving dreamblood from the dying-and those deemed too "corrupt" to live. Devout and loyal, Ehiru is slow to accept that heretical evil lurks behind Gujaareh's unblemished facade; only after encountering Sunandi, a foreign spy who is far less naive about Gujaareh's "mad bitch" goddess and her unscrupulous worshippers, does Ehiru begin to glimpse the rot that extends up to the pinnacle of Gujaareh's social pyramid. As a hideous monster preys on the innocent, Ehiru's faith is tested in a crisis of world-shaking proportions. Rather than merely appropriating various details from Earth's past and present, Jemisin (the Inheritance Trilogy) has created a fully developed secondary world that is an organic whole. Agent: Lucienne Diver, the Knight Agency. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal
(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

The desert city of Gujaareh is known as a peaceful society, free of violence and crime. To maintain the peace, Gatherers-priests of the goddess Hananja-police the city, siphoning the dreams of its residents and using them to heal, bring solace to the dying, and deliver death to the corrupt. When the city's most famous Gatherer, Ehiru, receives a commission to collect the dreams of a diplomat from a neighboring land, he and his apprentice Nijiri stumble into a web of political intrigue that could destroy their city and undermine its holy purpose. The author of the award-winning "Inheritance Trilogy" (The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms; The Broken Kingdoms; The Kingdom of Gods) launches a new series that explores the meaning of religion and the nature of faith. VERDICT This story, set in a world inspired by Africa and the Middle East, shines for its remarkable characters and graceful prose. Jemisin's fans and readers who enjoy China Mieville, Daniel Abraham, and Mike Resnick will embrace her attention to detail and the love of storytelling that infuses this novel. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.