Reviews

Library Journal
(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ice harvesters are preparing for the Winter Carnival at Saranac Lake, NY, when they find a body frozen under the surface. Freelance journalist Troy Chance, who is on the scene taking photos, recognizes the dead man as her roommate's boyfriend, Tobin Winslow. When the death is quickly assumed to be accidental, Troy disagrees. Convinced Tobin was murdered, Troy sets about meeting with Tobin's family and friends, hoping to find some insight into this man who turns out to be from a wealthy family. When her editor asks her to write the story of Tobin's life, it seems like the perfect way to gain information, along with providing the break Troy needs to establish her writing career. Verdict This disappointing sequel to Henry's Agatha Award-winning Learning To Swim weakens as the story line progresses, with too little conflict and too many "good guys" among the characters. Lacking the suspense found in her previous novel, this may be too innocuous for most mystery fans although the book's strong sense of place may attract some readers. [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/12.]-Linda Oliver, MLIS, Colorado Springs (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Library Journal
(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ice harvesters are preparing for the Winter Carnival at Saranac Lake, NY, when they find a body frozen under the surface. Freelance journalist Troy Chance, who is on the scene taking photos, recognizes the dead man as her roommate's boyfriend, Tobin Winslow. When the death is quickly assumed to be accidental, Troy disagrees. Convinced Tobin was murdered, Troy sets about meeting with Tobin's family and friends, hoping to find some insight into this man who turns out to be from a wealthy family. When her editor asks her to write the story of Tobin's life, it seems like the perfect way to gain information, along with providing the break Troy needs to establish her writing career. Verdict This disappointing sequel to Henry's Agatha Award-winning Learning To Swim weakens as the story line progresses, with too little conflict and too many "good guys" among the characters. Lacking the suspense found in her previous novel, this may be too innocuous for most mystery fans although the book's strong sense of place may attract some readers. [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/12.]-Linda Oliver, MLIS, Colorado Springs (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

Henry follows up her award-winning debut novel, Learning to Swim (2011), with a strong second effort also featuring freelance reporter Troy Chance. Out on Saranac Lake, in the Adirondacks, reporting on the Winter Carnival, Troy witnesses a group of ice cutters as they discover the body of a dead man beneath the frozen lake. It turns out that Troy is acquainted with the dead man, a wealthy, ne'er-do-well Princeton dropout and local playboy who was dating her roommate. But Troy also learns just how wrong she was in her assumptions about the drowning victim when the local newspaper editor assigns her to do an in-depth profile of the man and the investigation into his death. Featuring a strong cast of female characters and a measured pace, this sophomore novel also perfectly conjures the lure of living in a small and beautiful mountain town during a bitterly cold winter. Featuring an independent and immensely likable lead, riffing on the complicated nature of friendship, and boasting a solidly plotted mystery, this may well appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn.--Wilkinson, Joanne Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

At the start of Henry's haunting follow-up to her Agatha-winning debut, Learning to Swim (2011), reporter Troy Chance stumbles onto what could be the story that changes her career-as well as several lives-when the ice cutters she's photographing on New York's Saranac Lake for a feature about the Lake Placid-area resort's annual Winter Carnival find a man frozen under the surface. Almost as shocking, the victim is someone Troy knows-trust fund slacker Tobin Winslow, her roommate Jessamyn's boyfriend. Which makes the waiflike Jessamyn most definitely a person of interest to police. As Troy start digging, unexpectedly joining forces with Win, Tobin's impossible-to-dislike sister, she quickly discovers there are even more questions concerning Tobin's life than his death. Adding considerably to the compulsively readable mystery that unfolds-marred only by an anemic romantic subplot carried over from Swim-is Henry's bone-deep sense of this terribly beautiful place. Agent: Barney Karpfinger, the Karpfinger Agency. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.