Reviews

Library Journal
(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Definitely thought-provoking: when his daughter is raped and murdered, a doctor specializing in reproductive cloning uses DNA from the killer to clone him so that eventually he'll know exactly what the killer looks like. Lots of noise on this one, plus a seven-city author tour. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Publishers Weekly
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Guilfoile's engrossing debut novel takes a high-concept look at the age-old but still provocative question of nature vs. nurture. The story centers on Chicago fertility doctor Davis Moore, a pioneer in the field of cloning, whose teenage daughter, Anna Kat, is raped and murdered. When no leads pan out, a desperate Moore secretly uses the killer's DNA to clone him, with the unsuspecting aid of a client couple, so that one day he'll be able to identify the killer by his resemblance to the clone. The novel spins out over more than two decades, following the rocky development of the cloned boy, Justin Finn (whose parents know nothing of his potentially problematic DNA), Moore's monitoring of the young man and Moore's own complicated life. Though nominally a thriller, the book's jolts and tension are driven by character rather than plot, with the unpredictability of Moore, Justin and two other characters keeping the reader constantly off balance. Anna Kat's killer remains an active menace and is eerily close to the Finn family, and the novel also offers a nuanced and chillingly believable portrait of a religious zealot and terrorist, Mickey the Gerund, who racks up a lot of abortion clinic bombings and doctor kills over the years. Guilefoile displays a deep interest in his characters (backstories for all abound), and if his plot is a bit of a patchwork, the novel as a whole is rich and involving. Agent, Simon Lipskar. 7-city author tour. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal
(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

In Guilfoile's debut novel, an interesting mix of literary thriller and scientific contemplation, a little boy is brought into being to solve a heinous crime. The time is the distant future, and human cloning has become legal. When the daughter of noted fertility doctor Davis Moore is brutally raped and murdered he uses a vial of DNA to clone the killer so that he can uncover the reasoning behind the gruesome crime. With both his marriage and his career in ruins, Davis faces the chilling prospect of eventually looking his daughter's killer in the eye. In logical yet compelling fashion, the novel takes on themes of good and evil, past lives, and scientific cloning in an intricately woven story. Recommended for most public libraries with a collection emphasis on new and noteworthy suspense novelists, as well as for readers of Robin Cook and Tess Gerritsen. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 11/1/04.]-Christopher J. Korenowsky, Columbus Metropolitan Lib. Syst., OH (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.