Title Profile & Character Information

Out of My Mind

Annotation
Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

"If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it." --Denver Post
"A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"Unflinching and realistic." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Uplifting...This moving novel will makes activists of us all." --Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people--her teachers, her doctors, her classmates--dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it...somehow.

Awards
2011-2012  Sunshine State Young Reader's Book Award
2011-2012  Black-Eyed Susan Book Award
2012  Beehive Children's Fictional Book Award
2012-2013  Young Hoosier Book Award
2012-2013  Prairie Pasque Award
2012-2013  Flicker Tale Children's Book Award
2013  Land of Enchantment Book Award
2013  Nevada Young Reader's Award
2013  Mark Twain Award
2013  California Young Reader Medal
2013  Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award
2014  Nutmeg Children's Book Award

Characters
NameMelody
GenderGirl
OccupationStudent
TraitsDisabled
Wheelchair-bound

GenreFiction
Juvenile
Family
TopicsChildren with disabilities
Communication
Memories
Misunderstandings
Computers
Cerebral palsy
Bullying
SettingWashington, D.C.