Title Profile & Character Information

The Passage of Power

Begun in 1982 with The Path to Power, Caros multivolume "The Years of Lyndon Johnson" is indeed a magnum opus. The three volumes so far, which include Means of Ascent (1990) and Master of the Senate (2002), have collectively won a National Book Award, a Pulitzer Prize, and two National Book Critics Circle awards and have sold one and a half million copies. This fourth volume highlights five key years in Johnsons life, starting in 1958 with his campaign for the presidency and ending in 1964 as he found himself in the White House after John F. Kennedys assassination. Caro draws on interviews and thousands of primary documents to tell his story. As the 300,000-copy first printing suggests, demand should be big; look for -ebooks of the first two volumes on November 23 (Master is already available in that format).

TopicsJohnson, Lyndon B.
U.S. senators
U.S. vice-presidents
U.S. presidents
American history
Power struggles
Social conditions
World history
Washington, D.C.
White House

  The Years of Lyndon Johnson
1The Path to power
2Means of ascent
3Master of the Senate
4The Passage of power