Title Profile & Character Information

The Heavy

Annotation
For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mothers unflinching memoir about helping her seven year- old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weisss daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues-not to mention spotty eating habits-successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process-complete with frustrations, self- recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies-Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments-from school to restaurants to birthday parties-that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Beas condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing. The damned if you do/damned if you dont predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity. A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weisss success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

GenreNonFiction
Family & relationships
Health, Mind and Body
Memoir
TopicsMothers and daughters
Weight loss
Girls
Child rearing
Body image
Motherhood
Health
Dieting
Mothers and daughters
Weight loss
Girls
Child rearing
Body image
Motherhood
Health
Dieting