Title Profile & Character Information

Promises in Death

#1 New York Times– bestselling author J. D. Robb takes us to the New York City of 2060, where Lieutenant Eve Dallas faces down a cop killer.

A Amarylis Coltraine may have recently transferred to the New York City police force from Atlanta, but she’s been a cop long enough to know how to defend herself against an assailant. When she’s taken down just steps away from her apartment, killed with her own weapon, for Eve the victim isn’t just “one of us.”

Dallas’s friend Chief Medical Examiner Morris and Coltraine had started a serious relationship, and from all accounts the two were headed for a happy future together. But someone has put an end to all that. After breaking the news to Morris, Eve starts questioning everyone from Coltraine’s squad, informants, and neighbors, while Eve’s husband, Roarke, digs into computer data on Coltraine’s life back in Atlanta. To their shock, they discover a connection between this case and their own painful, shadowy pasts.

The truth will need to be uncovered one layer at a time, starting with the box that arrives at Cop Central addressed to Eve containing Coltraine’s guns, badge, and a note from her killer: “You can have them back. Maybe someday soon, I’ll be sending yours to somebody else.”

But Eve Dallas doesn’t take too kindly to personal threats, and she is going to break this case, whatever it takes. And that’s a promise.

NameDallas, Eve
OccupationPolice lieutenant

OccupationBusiness tycoon

    --Police procedural
    --Women sleuths
TopicsMurder investigations
Cop killers
Search for truth
SettingNew York

  Eve Dallas mystery
1Naked in death
2Glory in death
3Immortal in death
4Rapture in death
5Ceremony in death
6Vengeance in death
7Holiday in death
Silent night (anthology)
8Conspiracy in death
9Loyalty in death
10Witness in death
11Judgment in death
12Betrayal in death
13Seduction in death
14Reunion in death
15Purity in death
16Portrait in death
17Imitation in death
18Divided in death
19Visions in death
20Survivor in death
21Origin in death
22Memory in death
Interlude in death (novella)
Haunted in death (novella)
23Born in death
24Innocent in death
25Creation in death
Dead of night (anthology)
26Strangers in death
27Salvaton in death
Suite 606 (anthology)
28Promises in death
29Kindred in death
30Fantasy in death